About MAPA

The Massachusetts Association of Physician Assistants (MAPA) is the only professional organization that represents PAs in Massachusetts.

MAPA works diligently to represent the professional interests of our members. By joining MAPA you become part of a unifying voice for all PAs practicing in the Commonwealth. Member benefits and services include:

See What MAPA Can Do For You

generic PAs
Join us today

  • Representation to the AAPA House of Delegates: As a charter organization to the AAPA, we send Delegates to the AAPA House of Delegates. Members of the House of Delegates are responsible for setting policies that establish AAPA vision, missions, goals, values, priorities, philosophies, and principles.
  • Legislative Representation in the Commonwealth of Massachusetts: MAPA pays a lobbyist to represent PA professional interests at the state house. Pertinent updates can be found on the legislative page of our web site.
  • Access to Continuing Medical Education: MAPA has traditionally offered two CME conferences per calendar year. The price for these events is reduced for members.
  • Quarterly Newsletter: MAPA Visions keeps members updated on legislative and professional developments, apprised of new job postings, and connected to peers via human-interest elements.
  • Enhanced Web Site: The MAPA web site, www.mass-pa.com, offers an on-line calendar and registration links for CME events, a quick link to regulating bodies and constituent organizations, job postings, and a forum for communication between PA community members.

MAPA Board of Directors

Tia Phillips

President 2017-18

Sarah Christie

Past President, 2017-18

Tony Pellegrino

President-Elect, 2017-18

Meredith T. Johnson

Treasurer, 2017-19


Heather Morgan

Secretary, 2017-18

Sheri Talbot

Director at Large, 2017-19

Marissa Cauley

Director at Large, 2016-18

Allison Ruhe

Director at Large, 2016-18

Jessica Logsdon

Director at Large, 2017-19

Heather Trafton

Director at Large, 2016-18

David Probert

House of Delegates, 2016 - 2017

Oren Berkowitz

House of Delegates, 2016 - 2017

Cathy Hamel

House of Delegates, 2016 - 2017

Ina Cushman - Alternate

House of Delegates, 2016 - 2017

Executive Director

Jay Chamberlain